Scrappy and Single

April 16, 2012 § 2 Comments

A few weeks ago, I read a blogger’s top 10 list of her favorite food bloggers where she highlighted what made them so great and talked about how they got their start. Her list was spot-on and I completely agreed with the bloggers she mentioned, but something she wrote about one of the women hit a chord and inspired me to evaluate my thoughts on falling in love and eventually marrying someone. (Was I reading too much into it and over analyzing just a few words? You betcha.) I couldn’t find the post, but she said something along these lines: “So-and-so learned to cook around the same time that most of us did – when she walked down the aisle. She picked up her pots and pans and started cooking up a storm when she had a husband to feed and later honed her skills when she had a bustling family of three.”

This mindset makes me absolutely crazy and infuriates the heck out me. I think marriage is a wonderful, beautiful thing, but the idea of putting on an apron and heading to the kitchen as soon as you have a ring on your finger is archaic. One of my favorite parts about being in a relationship is cooking with that person. There’s excitement around trying new recipes, eating things that the other person grew up with and bonding over burned meals and silly cooking mistakes. You get to go to the grocery store together and have conversations like, “You don’t eat turkey?! I don’t even know who you are anymore!” and engage in full-on debates about whether fajitas should be made with beef or chicken. Serious, relationship-altering stuff.

As a single girl, I’m guilty of putting cooking on the back-burner. I know how to cook and still dust off the ol’ oven occasionally, but it’s easy to eat cereal straight from the box or snack on a granola bar in the car when I’m running off to kickboxing or a dance class. However, to remind myself that I can indeed cook for one person, I set off on a Sunday cooking spree. This is not and never will be a food blog (I’ll leave that to the likes of Orangette and Joy the Baker), but these simple and pretty dang fast recipes will keep me fed for the next week and give me something to look forward to when I open up my lunchbox tomorrow.

For some reason all of my images are showing up as slightly cut-off, but just pretend like they’re centered.

Everything I needed for the four things I planned on cooking.

Banana Nut Muffins from a mix. I added in a few raisins that were left over from a camping trip. Who actually eats plain raisins in real-life?

While the muffins were in the oven, I hard-boiled a few eggs for the week. They’re not the tastiest little things in the world, but aren’t they supposed to be healthy? Maybe? I’m no health nut.

This doesn’t look all that delicious, but it’s one of my favorite things to make and lasts me all week. Brown ground turkey, cook frozen peas and corn and boil rice. Once everything is cooked individually, mix it all together and stick it in the fridge. Toss it with soy sauce when you’re ready to eat it.

At some point while I was browning the ground turkey, I started a small kitchen fire. Did I say I was a pro at this? No, no I did not. After a quick phone call to my mother and a few seconds of panic, all was well and the only thing that didn’t make it was the photo that fell onto the burner. Apparently, it’s not a good idea to keep a picture above my stove. Moving this Rooster elsewhere:

And because kitchen fires call for glasses of wine:

After calming down a bit and cleaning off the burner, I moved on to pasta salad.

I think hard spinach is kind of gross, so I always toss it in a bit of olive oil to soften it up.

You can pretty much make pasta salad however you’d like, but I boiled some pasta, cooked up some chicken, threw in peas, tomatoes and spinach and tossed it with Italian salad dressing, followed by a few handfuls of parmesan cheese. Really big handfuls of parmesan cheese.

These recipes aren’t my best or my most complex, but they last a while and make excellent leftovers. I’m looking forward to someday cooking dinner with my husband and enjoying our final product together. As for now, I like to think that he’s off somewhere cooking up Sunday supper of his own.

P.S. Kitchen dancing is pretty much essential to making this whole cooking thing fun. If you get a hankerin’ for some kitchen dancing, let me know and I’ll share the playlist with you on Spotify.

Kitchen Dancing Playlist:

  • Give A Little Love – Rilo Kiley
  • Breakin’ Up – Rilo Kiley
  • Call Your Girlfriend – Robyn
  • Country Girl – Luke Bryan
  • Countdown – Beyonce
  • Wild’n Cuz I’m Young – Kid Cudi
  • Sunrise – Childish Gambino
  • Call It Off – Tegan and Sara
  • Make Me Proud – Drake
  • Hot-n-Fun – N.E.R.D.
  • You Da One – Rihanna
  • Bad Day – Chiddy Bang
  • Paris – Kate Nash
  • That’s Not My Name – The Ting Tings
  • I’m Good, I’m Gone – Lykke Li
  • Feel So Close – Calvin Harris
  • Heads Will Roll – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
  • Nothing But Our Love – Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr.
  • Dance Away – Smith Westerns
  • Hong Kong Garden – Siouxsie and the Banshees
  • I Might – Wilco
  • When Will You Go – The Dodos
  • Why Don’t We Just Dance – Josh Turner
  • Goodbye Earl – Dixie Chicks
§ 2 Responses to Scrappy and Single

  • emily b. says:

    1. How often do you go to HEB? That would last me 3 days. :]

    2. Stealing your pasta salad recipe, kthx.

  • Jennifer says:

    Trying out your pasta salad recipe for a work picnic tomorrow, I’m excited! Looking forward to seeing you on Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Scrappy and Single at Austin All Grown Up.

meta

