Mama Said Mama Said

April 15, 2011 § 3 Comments

When I was thinking about this post, the song Mama Said Mama Said by the Shirelles, kept running through my head. Probably because whenever I cook I’m thinking about what my mom would do or what my mom would say.

Cereal is getting really really old so I’m trying to cook more often, at least 2 times a week. I tried and failed to cook fancy Food Network recipes and decided to stick to my comfort zone of mom-approved recipes. When I moved into an apartment my mom made me a notebook of all of my favorite recipes that she’s been cooking since I was little. Things like sloppy joes, banana pudding and seven layer dip are all in there and all remind me of special nights with my family or big 4th of July parties with the neighborhood.

They’re all things I watched my mom cook and that I maybe won’t mess up when I’m making them myself. So far, I’ve made her King Ranch Chicken, taco salad, guacamole and chicken in a crescent. Chicken in a crescent is one of the BEST comfort foods I’ve ever had. My mom rarely made it because it takes about 45 minutes and we were all about efficiency in the Wiley household, but when she did I would dance around the kitchen until it was ready. My two favorite things, crescent rolls and cream cheese, play a big role in this meal. It’s not incredibly healthy, but this is comfort food and not some of that organic crap.

Here’s a picture of the delectable goodness so you can see how much you NEED this for dinner before you make it. ***No, this is not my photo. I was too busy freaking out about the fact that I forgot to soften the cream cheese before I added the other ingredients to take pictures. Those food bloggers with mad picture-taking and cooking skills are far too impressive for me. I stole this off of the Pillsbury website .***

While this photo has nasty pimento in it, my mother’s delectable version leaves that nastiness out. However, I did think that my mom made this recipe up from scratch and was slightly disappointed when I realized she got it from Pillsbury many moons ago. I plan to trick my kids someday too and make them think I’m a culinary genius.

Next time you’re craving warm deliciousness in your belly, think about this creamy treat. I want it again already and we just had it last week.

Recipe:

1 package (3 oz) cream cheese, softened
 
3 Tbs. margarine or butter, melted
 
2 cups cubed cooked chicken
 
1 Tbs. chopped fresh chives or onion
 
1/4 teaspoon salt
 
1/8 Tsp. pepper
 
2 tablespoons milk
 
1 can (8 oz) Pillsbury® refrigerated crescent dinner rolls
 
3/4 cup seasoned croutons, crushed
 
Directions: Heat oven to 350°F. In medium bowl, mix softened cream cheese and 1 tablespoon softened butter; beat until smooth. Add chicken, onion, salt, pepper and milk ; mix well.

Separate or cut dough into 4 rectangles. If using crescent dough, firmly press perforations to seal. Spoon 1/2 cup chicken mixture onto center of each rectangle. Pull 4 corners of dough to center of chicken mixture; twist firmly. Pinch edges to seal. Place on ungreased cookie sheet. Brush tops of sandwiches with 1 tablespoon melted butter; sprinkle with crushed croutons.

Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until golden brown.

§ 3 Responses to Mama Said Mama Said

  • Mom says:

    Just for the record, I didn’t get it from Pillsbury but a cookbook Aunt Leigh gave me that uses name brands.

    Also, I never bother with the butter and crumbs on top – just twist it up as pretty as you can!

  • Dad says:

    For the record – I do not consider sloppy joes “comfort food.” Mom never makes them for me, cuz I don’t like them. Maybe Mom made them to comfort you kids when I was away for dinner.

  • Yummy says:

    A delicious meal (: thanks for posting! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mama Said Mama Said at Austin All Grown Up.

meta

