Cereal, Tex Mex and Dancing

February 18, 2011 § Leave a comment

Cereal, tex mex and dancing. The only three clues Scorcese gave me for our Valentine’s Day weekend. Despite my consistent prodding, he wouldn’t tell me anything else. His ability to keep secrets when I can’t drives me bananas, but I love the anticipation!

Saturday morning I was told to be ready by 11 a.m. for cereal. Scorcese drove us down to 6th Street as I got more and more confused. Cereal on 6th? Then…TA-DA! We arrived at Alamo Drafthouse for the Cartoon Cereal Party: Boys vs. Girls!!

Cereal is one of my very favorite foods and I eat it for almost half of my meals. Cheerios are comforting and reliable, Cinnamon Toast Crunch is like a surprise in your mouth and Rice Crispies feel like fireworks. Cereal is just the best. Scorcese knows this and planned the absolute perfect best date ever.

Once we got inside the drafthouse, the colorful cereal boxes lined up in the front of the theater just about made me die from happiness. There were so many to choose from and they were all wonderfully unhealthy! We made our first selections, with everyone lined up, pouring their milk. It was like a big Austin sleepover at the drafthouse. I got Captain Crunch because it was always a special treat at my house when I was little.

Curled up in our seats with our big bowls of cereal, we settled in to watch cartoons. The extra fun part was the girl vs. boy cartoon contest. Girls totally won because Josie and the Pussy Cats and the Power Puff Girls are way better than GI Joe. Obviously.

I won’t get into the other mushy gushy aspects of our Valentine’s celebration because that’s cheesy and annoying, but our trip to the drafthouse was awesome! If you’re looking for a cozy way to spend a Saturday afternoon, the Cartoon Cereal Party is for you!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cereal, Tex Mex and Dancing at Austin All Grown Up.

meta

