Back to the future with a blast from the past

February 14, 2011 § Leave a comment

One of the best parts about this great city of Austin is the abundance of creative businesses. There’s a buzz in this town that feeds a passion for unique, exciting ideas. When I was planning Scorcese’s Valentine’s date, I researched drive-in movie theaters in Texas. I knew there was one about an hour away and thought we could take a little road trip. Fortunately, I was pleasantly surprised when the first thing that popped up in Google was for a new Austin drive-in called Blue Starlite Mine Urban Drive-In. Absolutely thrilled with this new addition to the city, I knew we had to go. To make it even more perfect, one of his favorite movies, Back to the Future, was playing.

After bragging to my co-workers about the completely ingenious Valentine’s date I planned and showing off my prowess as a true Austin explorer (not really, but I did tell them all they should steal my idea) I told Scorcese to get pumped for the best date of his life. He hates Valentine’s Day and I was on a mission to change that. This was supposed to be a surprise, but seeing as how I can’t keep my mouth shut about anything, the little sneak got it out of me.

You’d think that a drive-in smack dab in the middle of the city looking out over gorgeous downtown couldn’t get any better, but it did!! In addition to concessions, there are about five or six delicious food trucks for your enjoyment. I got a yummy grilled cheese, the boy got a meatloaf sandwich and we both devoured delicious fried okra. The atmosphere surrounding the whole place was just perfect and made me never ever want to leave Austin.

There are a few options for shows:

– Walk-in and sit on the grass ($10)

– Car space without a speaker – tune in with your radio ($20)

– Car space with an old-fashioned speaker that attaches to your car ($25)

About every great movie you can think of was listed on the site and it’s perfect for all types of Austinites. Bring your kiddos, your boyfriend, your best friend, your grandma and the homeless guy living around the corner because you’ll all love it.

As with any start-up, opening night will certainly have its glitches. There were a few audio problems at first and then halfway through the movie, the fire department shut everything down. Definitely a bummer, but they promised to give everyone vouchers to come again. Their website is currently just showing a message saying to check back in a few days once they’ve figured everything out. I don’t doubt that they will. This theater is way too awesome to not make it.

We still had a really good time and overall it was a successful Valentine’s date. We’ve both seen Back to the Future about 50,000 times so it was more about the experience than the movie.

Get excited for snuggling in your car with your honey or sitting outside on a blanket with your dog. Thank you to the people behind this idea. You’re the type of people who make this city what it is with your creative ambitions. Kudos to your hard work and I’m looking forward to frequent visits!

P.S. Did I mention it’s BYOB?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back to the future with a blast from the past at Austin All Grown Up.

meta

