Love me love me, saaaay that you’ll love me

January 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

You know that one friend who keeps telling you to join him at the “best place in the world.” You think to yourself, “Sure I bet it’s cool, but can it really be the best place in the world?” YES IT CAN. Try new things folks and listen to that friend who won’t stop harping about his awesome spot.

The place to which I’m referring in this particular situation is Barbarella. My hipster friend kept trying to get me to go and I kept making other plans. It just sounded too good to be true. It wasn’t, it was better.

So two weeks ago, I finally agreed to venture away from my usual spots. “Bruises” by Chairlift was pounding when I walked in and I immediately knew it was the place for me. Everyone just looked so happy. Like Barbarella was this magic place with awesome music and spunky little hipsters. We headed to the outside bar, despite the rain, because my friend is in love with the bartender and her tight leather pants. He proceeded to make a fool out of himself while I dragged everyone else onto the dance floor.

What proceeded was the most fabulous night ever with each song better than the last. When “Love Fool” came on, I literally almost passed out and died. This song was a staple of my childhood and was the background of many a sleepover in elementary school.

Some of an old playlist:

Matt & Kim – Yeah Yeah
Marina & the Diamonds – Oh No
Active Child – I’m in your church at night
Jamie Woon – Night Arir
Jimmy Edgar – Turn You inside out
Crystal Castles – Vanished
Hot Chip – One life Stand
Yeasayer – Ambling ALp
YACHT – Afterlife
Interpol – C’mere
Strokes – Reptila
Best Coast – When I’m with you
Florence and the Machine – Dog Days
Sleigh Bells – Riot Rhythm
Daft Punk – Robot Rock
LCD Soundsystem – I can change
Hercules and the love Affair – Blind
Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs – Garden

The best part of the night was that I wore whatever the heck I wanted and didn’t give a flipping flop if I was hit on. There was no time to seduce a man for drinks because my friends and I were too busy dancing.

GO TO BARBARELLA if it’s the last thing you do. I’ve been back three times since. Tuesdays is “Tuesgays” if that’s your style and Friday is 80s night. There’s something for everyone. Oh and did I mention they post their playlists online? Yeah, that’s right, this place rocks.

Find me – I’ll be the redhead who looks drunk, but isn’t, and is shaking her booty on the side stage.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Love me love me, saaaay that you’ll love me at Austin All Grown Up.

meta

